Rediff News
All News
News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Election » 10 women candidates successful in Gujarat election

10 women candidates successful in Gujarat election

Source: PTI
December 15, 2002 22:26 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Ten women candidates out of the 36 fielded by the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress party have been successful at the polls for the Gujarat state legislative assembly.

While seven out of total 11 BJP candidates, including state Education Minister Anandiben Patel romped home, four Congress candidates also scraped through.

While Patel, a close associate of Chief Minister Narendra Modi scraped through in Patan, city BJP president Maya Kodnani won by a massive margin of over 40,000 votes from Naroda in Ahmedabad district, the worst-hit in post-Godhra communal violence.

Ramila Desai, a former Ahmedabad district panchayat president, Vasuben Trivedi, Jyotsana Somani and Bhikhi Parmar tasted their maiden victory from Kheralu, Jamnagar (city), Wankaner and Meghraj constituencies respectively.

BJP minister of state for women and child welfare Jasumati Korat retained her Jetpur seat in Saurashtra.

Congress candidate Bharti Patel ousted BJP Cabinet minister Kanji Patel from latter's home turf Chikhli in south Gujarat and so did Dr Neema Acharya, who wrested the seat from the BJP in Anjar in quake-hit Kutch district.

Rashida Patel won the Vaghra seat for the Congress.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.