Rediff News
All News
News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Election » Congress retains Nainital LS seat

Congress retains Nainital LS seat

Source: PTI
December 15, 2002 14:49 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The Congress on Sunday retained the prestigious Nainital Lok Sabha seat in Uttaranchal when its candidate Mahendra Singh Pal trounced the Bharatiya Janata Party's Balraj Passi by a margin of over 100,000 votes.

Uttaranchal Chief Minister N D Tiwari had vacated the seat following his election to the state assembly.

Pal secured 200,181 votes against Passi's 95,995. The Bahujan Samaj Party's Subhas Sarkar came third with 74,846 votes.

The party's chief election campaigner and state Information Minister Indira Hridayesh said, "First, we won the assembly election in February this year. Then N D Tiwari won Ramnagar by-poll with a thumping majority. Now, the Congress has taken a hat-trick by winning Nanital."

Asked to comment on the BJP's defeat, former chief minister Bhagat Singh Koshiyari said the party failed to capitalise on "corruption issues revolving around some ministers".

He also alleged that the Congress misused the official machinery.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.