Rediff News
All News

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp  » Sports » Uttar Pradesh top Group B

Uttar Pradesh top Group B

December 28, 2007 21:22 IST

Medium pacer Praveen Kumar's brilliant six wicket-haul helped Uttar Pradesh defeat Hyderabad by 132 runs in the Ranji Trophy Super League Group B match in Hyderabad on Friday.

Resuming at overnight score of 55 for two, Hyderabad were all out for 305 in their second innings while chasing the victory target of 438.

D Ravi Teja hit an unbeaten 133, including 21 boundaries and three sixers, to save the match but his superb knock went in vain.

Captain Arjun Yadav and Amol Shinde were the only batsmen to make decent scores of 42 and 43 respectively.

Apart from Praveen, S Tyagi and P Gupta claimed two wickets each.

Earlier, Uttar Pradesh made 336 in its first innings and declared its second edition at 294 for 3.

Hyderabad were bundled out for 193 in their first innings.

Uttar Pradesh obtained five points from the match and has a total of 19 points. Baroda too has 19 points in Group B but UP enters semi-finals by virtue of better run quotient


Uttar Pradesh (1st innings): 336
Hyderabad (1st innings): 193
Uttar Pradesh (2nd innings): 294/3 decl.
Hyderabad (2nd innings, overnight 55/2):
D Manohar c Amir Khan b P Kumar 33
A Kumar lbw b P Kumar 2
SA Pai c B Kumar b Gupta 24
S Shoaib c Piyush Chawla b P Kumar 1
A Yadav c R Shukla b Tyagi 42
A Shinde c A Khan b P Kumar 43
D Ravi Teja not out 133
M Shakeer b Gupta 0
M Arjun c Raina b P Kumar 7
P Ojha c Raina b P Kumar 0
V Sharma lbw b Tyagi 12
Extras: (b 3, lb 1, w 1, nb 3) 8
Total: (all out in 82.2 overs) 305

Fall of wickets: 1-6, 2-55, 3-61, 4-81, 5-121, 6-199, 7-202, 8-221, 9-221, 10-305

Bowling: P Kumar 23-3-65-6, B Kumar 3-1-13-0, S Tyagi 14.2-3-76-2, P Gupta 20-4-66-2, P Chawla 17-4-62-0, S Raina 2-0-12-0, M Kaif 3-0-7-0

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.