Feedback | Home | 2003: The year that was

Sairaj Bahutule


< Back    Next >
The 35th Ranji

Mumbai won the Ranji Trophy a record 35th time, defeating Tamil Nadu by 141 runs in the final at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai.

Written off at the start of the Ranji season, the Bombay boys fought back with seven wins out of nine matches played, crushing Baroda in the semi-final.

Against Tamil Nadu, Mumbai made 260 despite collapsing on the first day. At the end of the second day, Tamil Nadu were in the driver's seat at 223-4. After dismissing Tamil Nadu for 271 on the third morning, Mumbai scored 387-7 in their second innings, setting Hemang Badani's team 377 to win.

But leg-spinner Sairaj Bahutule's 5 for 70 saw Tamil Nadu collapse for 235, and Mumbai were national champions yet again.

Text: Faisal Shariff

Mumbai win

< Back    Next >

Tell us what you think is the event of the year

Email this Article

Copyright © 2003 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.
Sahara Samay